It’s not that I haven’t got anything to say, in fact almost every day there’s some tech-related story that catches my eye. But there is a discipline to writing a regular entry in a blog, diary or whatever, which I seem to have lost. That can’t be a good thing and so I bring myself to make the first entry in some time.

This entry in Mashable caught my attention. A story for our times and obviously very sad, but apart from the human tragedy what stands out is the speed at which we move information around our networks and the fact that normal official channels for transmitting such information don’t have a hope in competing. But there isn’t really much else to be said; official procedures remain the same. They can’t be fast-tracked to compete with Facebook and so from now on the risk of having bad news spread via your social network so that everyone else finds out before you do about something so personal is real.

